Fight Through the Pain

6 Sep

It’s Thursday and you know what that means! The weekend is just around the corner which means some much needed R and R for everyone I’m sure. I know that I can’t wait to kick back tomorrow night, pop in some flicks and just unwind from such a short but crazy week. I snuck in a quick breakfast of half a banana with Special K and skim before setting of for the day. Today started off like any other with classes, specifically Organic and Calc 2 recitation. Apparently, the TA that I had last week for my recitation was in the wrong class and never realized it so I had a completely different person teaching today. Once classes were over, I was planning on hitting the lakes again for a run but, as is normal in Louisiana, it was hotter than the surface of the sun so I opted for the UREC instead which I knew would be pretty quiet at 11:30 AM.

Some yummy and filling breakfast to start the day off right!

On the walk over there, I realized how sore my shins were from yesterday so I decided to spend an hour on the treadmill instead on one of the harder programs so I would be sure to break a serious sweat. By the end of the workout, I had covered 3.38 miles and had burned 622 calories (although, as I’m sure most of you already know, the machines are very bad at predicting how many calories you ACTUALLY burn). My legs were definitely feeling it at the end but I knew I wanted to get some strength in too so, giving my legs a bit of a break so they could recover, I started with abs and then moved to arms. For abs, I used this awesome workout from Tone It Up and the arm workout is the one I spoke about here. I was definitely sore by the time I finished those but managed to garner enough energy so I could crank out a leg workout. It consisted of the following:

Leg Press: 3 sets of ten at 110lbs

Standing Calf Raises: 3 sets of ten at 40lbs

Hip Adduction/Abduction: 3 sets of ten each at 70lbs

Prone Leg Curls: 2 sets of twelve at 40lbs

Glutes: 3 sets of ten at 30lbs

My body will definitely not be too happy tomorrow but I do it all for the love of fit (see what I did there? 🙂 ) After leaving the UREC, I stopped in at the apartment to drop my stuff and then headed over to the Union where they apparently believe that air conditioning only works when it is set to 4°F. It was so chilly in there when I walked in after, not only leaving the gym, but walking outside where it feels like 100°. Definitely not the shock I was expecting. I ended up grabbing a tuna salad wrap from Einstein Bros which was far from spectacular but filled me up. Plus, fish has a lot of good protein so that was a good post-workout meal.

Tuna Salad Wrap

As for the rest of my afternoon, it will be spent at the library working on some assignments and attempting to get ahead to that when this weekend comes around, I will be able to crash when the clock hits 12:30, I will, after hitting the lakes of course, be able to lounge around and hang out for the weekend, or at least until the football game comes along on Saturday night! This week, Washington State Huskies are going to be at Tiger Stadium for yet another crazy night of football. Hopefully we can up that record to 2-0 without any problems. As for the rest of the day, I hope you all have a wonderful afternoon and just keep in mind that you’re almost there!

It’s almost Friday!

2 Responses to “Fight Through the Pain”

  1. Workout Challenger October 25, 2012 at 12:56 pm #

    Hilarious picture 😀 Is that your dog?

    Don’t you feel sorry for them dogs? The things that are on their to do list each day…waking up, going outside, getting back inside again, eat a bit, walk around the room, going to sleep again to wake up afterwards to go back to eating and drinking…

    They have a hard life 🙂

    • nicmcken October 25, 2012 at 12:59 pm #

      It’s not my dog but I certainly wish it was! It’s too cute! And they certainly do have busy days that they tend to! Haha

Leave a Reply

