Proceed With Caution

17 Sep

Sorry about how long it has taken me to get another post up but today was yet another interesting day in the life of Nicole McKenna. I woke up this morning to a dreary raining day that left me wanting to go back to sleep but alas, classes wait for no one and eventually I was up and ready to go. Before leaving the apartment, I snuck in a quick breakfast of two kiwis and a banana knowing that it would be a while before I had a chance to grab some lunch. The majority of the morning was uneventful….that is to say until I got to Oceanography which is my last class of the day.

Yummy breakfast!

After surviving my less exciting Astronomy, Calc II and Genetics classes already, I hoped that Oceanography would fly by as usually but before the class could even start, the screen which originally showed the PowerPoint for the day switched to an LSU alert informing us that there was a bomb threat on campus and that we needed to quickly, but calmly evacuate campus. We all sat there a little surprised for a moment, reread the message and at that point, most of our phones started buzzing with text alerts sent by the university. After sitting in close to an hour of traffic as 25,000+ people evacuated campus, I made it to my friend’s apartment and hung out for the afternoon with the intention of getting some studying done but rainy days, cancelled classes and a dog with enough energy to power the city of New York were enough distractions that not much was accomplished.

The pup with endless energy!

After seven hours of searching buildings, all of the residential buildings were cleared and we were allowed to head back to our dorms. They are still working on searching some of the academic buildings but to be honest, the process is moving pretty quickly. LSU has at least 459 buildings on campus (one of our dining halls is called the 459 because it is the 459th building on campus). With that being said, although most of us hoped that classes would be cancelled for tomorrow, we will probably be having them.

Text messages from LSU
CNN article
Traffic leaving campus

I had thought that the day couldn’t be more interesting than having a bomb threat at a school that I am attending but I was mistaken. Upon arriving at my apartment, I also received a text informing me that the UREC was going to be open for the rest of the night is people wanted to workout so I quickly threw on workout clothes. As I went to grab my running shoes, which I keep right next to my yoga mat, out of the corner of my eye, I noticed the one and only bathroom cockroach hanging out on my yoga mat. This time, instead of freaking out, I yelled out to my roommate to call one of the guys upstairs to take care of it. Apparently, because we are on the first floor, we tend to get a lot more than some of the other floors and the guys upstairs are use to taking care of them. I can now say that, although the roach won the first round which took place in the bathroom, I have won the battle. Hopefully there won’t be anymore battle royales with the little critters.

Roach – 0
Nicole – 1

After the roach fiasco, I finally made it to the gym to bang out a run which consisted of 3:00/2:00 run/walk intervals for an hour followed by abs and arms. I felt good about the run and hopefully this week, I’ll get a chance to up my intervals on one of my outside lake runs. For the most part, those runs have been going well and I have even dropped some of my intervals below 9:00 minute pace which I was ecstatic with. I’m hoping there is only room for more improvement and I’d like to be able to run the entire lake by the end of October without stopping. (Fingers crossed!)

As I said last week when I posted, I have a bunch of tests this weekend, some of which have now been rescheduled so it may be a few days before I get a chance to post again but until then, I hope you all have a great week! Go out into the world and do amazing things!

P.S. I also updated the Fashion Page so be sure to check it out!

Leave a Reply

