Enjoy The Little Things

26 Sep

To say that this week has been rough would be a huge understatement but even through the tough days, I keep trying to find something that makes me smile or laugh. Today, I’ve had zero energy to do anything and have a test tomorrow which I’m far from prepared for. On top of that, my homesickness is starting to kick in a bit but luckily for me, I found the perfect, if only temporary, fix for that. The entire time I have been at LSU, I have always complained about the fact that while they claim “America Runs on Dunkin”, there is only one Dunkin Donuts in Louisiana and it was located an hour away. Being from New England, which is the birthplace of the company, I’ve always enjoyed my coffee and grew up in a place where most people literally only function after they have had their very serious fix. Here’s some perspective…in high school, my dad would make two pots of coffee which he, my brother and myself would drink before leaving the house for school and work. On my way to school, I would stop at Dunkin, wait in line for sometimes twenty minutes and then run off to school barely making the bell. Once I sat in class and had my first sip of iced coffee though, it was completely worth it. I will even admit that I was late to school some days because I needed my fix. It sounds bad, I know, but it’s just the way that most New Englanders function. Boston is another perfect example because on some corners you can find a Starbucks and directly across the street see a Dunkin.

Just for reference, here’s a map of the Starbucks and DD locations in and around Boston

Fortunately for me, DD finally came to their senses and opened a location in Baton Rouge, which for me was a godsend this week when all I could have wanted was a quick trip home which is obviously impossible in the middle of the semester. After hearing that it opened yesterday but being unable to find any information, I was disappointed until today when people started posting pictures. The location was FINALLY listed on their website and the minute I got out of my afternoon meeting and got back to my apartment, I grabbed my keys and was out the door. I knew already what I wanted and knew I would probably scare some of the new employees who expected no one to really know what they wanted but I was beyond excited. Here the thing….Was it fifteen minutes away from where I live? Yes. Did it require me getting on the highway to get a coffee and some munchkins (or donut holes for those of you unfamiliar with the DD lingo)? Yes. Did I waste most of the gas that I had in my tank to get there? Yes. But in the end, when I ask myself if it was worth it, there isn’t a moment of hesitation in saying yes.

Enjoy the little things!

Getting DD today, for me, was one of those little things in life that you absolutely have to appreciate. For almost an hour, I completely forgot the fact that I was homesick, that my week was going poorly and that I had found out a lot of things this week that I could have gone without knowing. Having something that reminds me of home made me remember that being away is only temporary and I need to push through these hard and frustrating times before I get there. It’s these kinds of times that make you a stronger person at the end of the day. I forgot momentarily about the stress and the frustrations that have plagued my week and now, as silly as it sounds, feel completely refreshed and ready to take on this test tomorrow as well as the rest of my week. Ironically enough, after getting back to campus from my trip to DD and sitting down to do some studying, I quickly opened The College Prepsters blog to see that she recently posted a Kurt Vonnegut quote which fit my situation perfectly:

From The College Prepster (Click to be taken to her site)

It seemed perfectly fitting as may even apply to some of your lives right now. With that being said, I hope you all have an amazing rest of the week and don’t take the small things that make you smile for granted. Sometimes they are the only things you have to get you through the day!

4 Responses to “Enjoy The Little Things”

  1. hawkeyemaps September 26, 2012 at 8:27 pm #

    Love the map! I was hoping to include Boston in a series of maps I did of coffee shops in major metros (Chicago, LA, NYC), but I couldn’t find any data for Beantown.

    • nicmcken September 26, 2012 at 8:30 pm #

      I found it by just Googling Starbucks and Dunkin in Boston and it was the perfect map! Glad I could help you out! 🙂

  2. Erin @ A Girl & Her Mutt September 27, 2012 at 1:09 pm #

    I just had to laugh while reading this. When I moved to Boston I did not understand why DD was on every single corner. I mean, their donuts weren’t anything compared to Krispy Kreme. Then I realized that people were going there for coffee! I was shocked! To be honest…I still am! Florida is getting more and more DD but not nearly as many as the North East. Glad you got your fix!

    • nicmcken September 27, 2012 at 1:11 pm #

      Thanks for popping in! 🙂 I have yet to try a Krispy Kreme donut but I’m not sure I could ever replace the blueberry cake donut from DD…it is too yummy. And the coffee at DD is definitely delicious. I appreciate the fact that they have so many more flavors than most places and they switch them up for the seasons.

Leave a Reply

