Race Wish List

27 Sep

Happy Thursday everyone! In the past few days as I’ve been trying to find some more fitness blogs that I enjoy reading, I’ve also found that in the coming year, there are a ton of races that have caught my eye and that I’m considering running. Even though I’ve been running since high school, I have never run any sort of race outside of track meets and would love to finally cross that off my bucket list so without further ado, here is my wish list!

1. Zooma Women’s Race Series in Austin – March 23, 2013

Not only is this a race that is largely focused on female runners but Zooma has turned the entire event into a fun girls weekend with shopping, yoga and wine tastings (along with many other things!). In addition to the Austin race, the group is hosting others along the east coast and even one in Michigan. The thing that caught my eye (aside from the fun of a girls weekend) was the fact that this race is in “Austin Hill Country” and if you ask me, I need to see that for myself. Being from the North, I’m use to running hills and seeing mountains but from what I’ve heard, Texas is pretty void of any elevation. Another perk of this race is that they have both a 5K and a half marathon depending on your skill level. I would hope that by the time this race comes around I’ll be ready for a half marathon but as of right now, I’ll be sticking with the 5K.

Click to be taken to the Zooma Website!

2. Tough Mudder Houston – October 2013

Who doesn’t love an enormous challenge? As if running a race isn’t hard enough, make it three to four times longer than a 5K and add military style obstacles that were designed by the British Special Ops. Did I spark your interest yet? The Tough Mudder isn’t just a challenging race though as many of the entrance fees are donated to the Wounded Warrior Project which helps to support wounded veterans…a worthy cause if you ask me and definitely worth the entrance fee! Plus, who can complain about crossing the finish line and having a beer handed to you, a band already playing and the party raging. Finally, the race series promotes helping one another which is amazing when you realize that running, for a lot of people (myself included), is often a solo activity. Definitely adding it to my list of races to complete in the future!

Tough Mudder Pledge

3. Color Run – Austin 2013

It’s only a 5K but at the end of the race, you look like you’ve been attacked with a box of crayons and chances are, you’ll have the biggest smile on your face. This fun run takes that name to a whole new level by covering runners in a different color of all natural chalk every time they finish another kilometer of the race. Don’t want to get covered in tons of color? The organizers have solved that problem and created zones where the color is more concentrated so you can pick and choose how colorful you are by the end of the race. Similar to the Tough Mudder, the finish line serves as the entrance to the after party where people can enjoy music, food and compare how much color they managed to pick up during their run. The website says there is only one rule: You have to wear mostly white and have fun!

Color Explosion!

and last but not least….

4. The Boston Marathon – April 15, 2013

Growing up in New England, the Boston Marathon is a huge deal. Race day is affectionately referred to as Marathon Monday and the entire state has the day off. Schools are closed and for the most part, everyone is in and around Boston lining the race course. I, unfortunately, have never had the chance to see the actual race in person but I have seen it plenty of times on TV and have seen a majority of the course which is far from easy. Miles seven through fourteen pass through Newton, MA and are strictly hills including the notorious Heartbreak Hill which I grew up hearing my mom talk about. There is nothing more exciting than watching the runners turn down Boylston Street for the final stretch and seeing that first person cross the finish line. It absolutely warms my heart and can some years even make me cry. I love seeing other people’s hard work and dedication pay off. I can only hope that there will be a day in the future when I will get to cross that famous finish line after running 26.2 miles from Hopkington, although this race maybe a long way off.

The finish line for the marathon on Boylston Street

Now that you’ve seen my race wish list, I want to hear about yours! What races in the next year (or more) are you looking forward to being a part of! Leave me a comment with your answers!

For more info on each race, click the picture underneath the description to be taken to the website!

 

P.S. I made a Twitter! Click Here!

Leave a Reply

