Tan Lines and Tailgates

29 Sep

Okay….so my tan lines are pretty much gone but a girl can wish right? Fortunately for me, it is college football season and that means plenty of tailgating with delicious food, snacks and fun!….oh and a little Luke Bryan mixed in there! This week, LSU is playing Towson so it’s not going to be a big game but that doesn’t mean that we skip a week of cooking. For the most part, I am the dessert person. I bring the cakes or the Pinterest yummies that take ages to make but are always a crowd pleaser. I figured since I have yet to post a recipe, I’d post my ones for this weekends snacks which include Temptingly Tasty Toffee, PB Chocolate Pretzels and Pizza Pinwheels. I’ll post all of the full recipes under the tab but here’s a brief description of each.

The Temptingly Tasty Toffee is by far my favorite of the three because not only does it have a salty flavor from the saltines but it has the sweet flavor from the toffee and chocolate. What more could I ask for? Oh, and it’s so simple to make which is definitely a plus. It only requires saltines, chocolate, brown sugar and butter and takes under 15 minutes to make. Always a crowd pleaser!

Temptingly Tasty Toffee in the fridge before getting broken up

The PB Chocolate Pretzels was a recipe that I found on Pinterest that I couldn’t resist. I have a soft spot for Reese’s cups and I knew instantly that these would be right up my alley. After adding a few ingredients to the PB, you can easily roll it into a small ball and squeeze it between the pretzels which makes the project a little time consuming but definitely worth the final product. I left them in the freezer overnight and waited until today to dip them in the chocolate. My fridge is now full of them!

So many PB Chocolate Pretzels!

As for the Pizza Pinwheels, I haven’t had a chance to whip them up yet because I was going to bring them over to a friends apartment for lunch but I’m hoping they are delicious. Seeing as how they are crescent rolls with cheese and pepperoni that you dip in pizza sauce, I’m having a hard time believing they won’t be amazing. I will definitely fill you all in on how those turn out!

The rest of my morning has been pretty uneventful. It’s been a raining morning in Baton Rouge and although I was up early to go for a run, about a mile into it I lost complete interest and came back to my apartment. My legs took a pretty serious beating on my run the other day and I neglected to stretch after which is definitely catching up with me. I am hoping that, although the UREC isn’t open today, standing at the football game will be enough of a workout today. Some games can go for hours and the standing can be torture. I’m a bit envious of all those spectators who have regular seats instead of our general admission student tickets but for the price we pay, I can’t complain. We definitely have the better deal. Anyways, I am off to finish up some cleaning around the apartment and get ready for another wonderful Saturday in Death Valley! I hope you all have a wonderful Saturday and keep an eye out for those recipes!

Geaux Tigers!

P.S. In case you missed it the other day, I made a Twitter!

2 Responses to “Tan Lines and Tailgates”

  1. alaine66 September 29, 2012 at 4:37 pm #

    Your treats look awesome…especially the PB chocolate pretzels!

    • nicmcken September 29, 2012 at 5:06 pm #

      They went over really well! I was pretty excited…definitely worth the time that they took!

Leave a Reply

