Turn the Beat Around

30 Sep

Is it just me or does everyone else get incredibly tired of their running must after a few runs? Lately I’ve been finding myself skipping through a majority of the songs on my playlists and getting distracted from my run. I should also add that I am the queen of making mental notes and forgetting them seconds later. For example, if I am in the car and I hear a song that I’d love to add to my workout list, I make a mental note. The problem is that the song never makes it to my playlist…until now! I found an app for iPhone called Shazam that I’ve been using lately which listens to the song that is playing and saves it to a list so that you can download it later. Genius right?! Although I’m still working on adding some more songs to my lists, here is a list of my favorite workout songs now:

Another neat site that I use a lot to find new workout music is called jog.fm. I can’t exactly remember where I heard about the site but it has turned out to be an amazing find. The site allows you to enter your pace for either you runs, bike rides and walks and returns a very extensive list of songs that have the same bpm as you run/walk/bike. Nifty right? You can also listen to the songs on Spotify if you have it installed on your computer as opposed to typing them all into Youtube which can be a pain.

Well now that you have plenty of new sources for music, I hope you all add some new songs to your playlists and get going! As for me, I’ll be taking the next few days off because of a sneak attack from a cold but no fear! I’ll be back out on the trails before you know it. Have a great Sunday night and a wonderful Monday tomorrow!!

Do you have any favorite workout songs that you add to every list? Any suggestions that I should add to my lists? Leave them in the comments!

4 Responses to “Turn the Beat Around”

  1. Sara October 1, 2012 at 9:34 pm #

    Shazam is one of my favorite iPhone apps! And I am completely OBSESSED with Hunter Hayes’ song Wanted. I’ve been playing it on repeat 😉

    • nicmcken October 1, 2012 at 10:24 pm #

      It’s so good! I was really bummed because he played our free spring concert last year and I was out of town. I heard he was absolutely amazing!

  2. agirlandhermutt October 2, 2012 at 10:15 am #

    I tend to listen to a lot of Jessie J. I get stuck on songs and will play them on repeat for months on end. Fun huh?

    • nicmcken October 2, 2012 at 3:21 pm #

      Yes! She is wonderful too! Every time Domino comes on, my radio volumes goes as high as possible haha

Leave a Reply

