Crock Pot Chicken Soup

16 Jan

As promised, here’s the crock pot chicken soup recipe! After running the grocery store yesterday morning, I threw everything into the crock pot, ran errands and returned home to a delicious smell that had invaded every inch of the house. It’s not exactly the fastest meal to put together but it is definitely worth it.

2013-01-15 16.02.40

Crock Pot Chicken Soup

What you’ll need:

– a cooked Rotisserie chicken (I picked up mine in the grocery section at Walmart)

– celery

– a sweet onion

– carrots

– chicken broth

First, I took the onion and celery and chopped up enough pieces so that they would cover the bottom of the crock pot. I ended up using about one onion and four and a half stalks of celery. I then used a mandolin to slice up carrots. You can also just cut them. (It’s probably a lot safer! I ended up nicking myself on the blade once. Not fun!)

2013-01-15 15.35.23

I then pulled the meat off of the chicken making sure that I peeled off all of the skin and fat in the process. I added that to the crock pot on top of all the veggies.

2013-01-15 15.45.09

Next, I added the chicken broth followed by oregano and cilantro to season everything. It smelled so yummy! I called my dad at work to double check if I had missed anything and he mentioned that he usually shreds up a bit of the carrots and celery to add extra flavor to the broth. I shredded another carrot and stalk of celery and added it to the mix. I stirred everything together, set the crock pot on high for six hours and voila! You’ll all done!

  • What’re your favorite crock pot recipies?
  • Do you ever crave a certain dish on a hot/cold day?
2 Responses to “Crock Pot Chicken Soup”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bloody Mary Crock-Pot Chicken - January 17, 2013

    […] Crock Pot Chicken Soup […]

  2. 31 Day CROCK-POT CHALLENGE !!!! - January 17, 2013

    […] Crock Pot Chicken Soup […]

Leave a Reply

